YOBS to face Dunsborough in final

Great effort: A gallant bowling performance from Nick Healy for Cowaramup could not prevent Dunsborough from claiming the last of the A-grade qualifying games at Cowaramup Oval on Saturday. Photo: Vanessa Hatton.
Great effort: A gallant bowling performance from Nick Healy for Cowaramup could not prevent Dunsborough from claiming the last of the A-grade qualifying games at Cowaramup Oval on Saturday. Photo: Vanessa Hatton.

YOBS will meet Dunsborough at Barnard Park this Saturday for the right to host the A-grade grand final of the Busselton-Margaret River Cricket Association, after both sides scored morale-boosting wins in the last round of the home-and-away competition at the weekend.

YOBS had already secured the Yates Shield for the A-grade minor premiership with 10 wins from their 12 preliminary games – their fourth Yates Shield in as many seasons – and warmed up for the finals with a convincing win over Margaret River Hawks.

After Ben Payne opted to take first use of the track at Barnard Park, YOBS tallied 7-185 from their 50 overs and then dismissed Hawks for an even 100 in 37.5 overs. Opener Harvey Golding led the way for YOBS with a determined 75, his best effort in A-grade cricket, and shared a second-wicket stand of 106 with Troyden Thorp (32).

Hawks fought exceptionally well after drinks to take 6-20 as YOBS declined from 1-157 to 7-177. Aiden Robins, 16, particularly impressed with figures of 3-35 from 10 overs. But Hawks were soon on the back foot in their chase when YOBS quick Haig Colombera accounted for both openers. Brad Kelly and the experience of Martin Head took the tally to 59 before YOBS’ Zimbabwean import Ardene Ruhode brought about a collapse by taking three catches in three overs – two off his own bowling, including the crucial wicket of Head – as Hawks lost their last 8 for 41.

At Cowaramup, Dunsborough had relatively few problems as they dismissed the Bulls for 125 in 34.3 overs and then knocked off the runs in just 22 overs for the loss of only three wickets. Sri Lankan import Kavy de Silva showed great commitment in turning out again for Cowaramup despite being troubled by injury, and opened the batting for the Bulls with typical strokeplay to score a fast 18 before falling to a leading edge. Oscar Herbst late in the order scored a determined 30 to help Cowaramup recover from 7-71 to post 125 all out.

Dunsborough skipper Chris Reagan, in what has been a meagre season so far at a personal level, claimed 4-30 with his off-spin while Danny Hatton, Mark Natale (2-5 off 5.3 overs) and Josh Reagan each claimed two wickets. The experience of left-hander Aaron Mott (46 not out) and hitting of Josh Reagan (30 not out) enabled Dunsborough to win the game with 28 overs to spare. Nick Healy was the stand out bowler for Cowaramup with all three wickets, all bowled.

In this Saturday’s A-grade minor semi-final, Margaret River Hawks will host St Marys at Gloucester Park, with the winner to play the loser of the major semi-final on Sunday.

The highlight of B-grade cricket last weekend – and probably the highlight of the season – was the performance by Vasse in chasing down Hawks’ total of 6-277 at Vasse. Mat Kammann led the way with a heroic 85 not out as Vasse got up to beat Hawks in 44.1 overs.

In B-grade cricket semi-finals this Saturday, Dunsborough will host YOBS in the major semi at Dunsborough, while St Marys will host Margaret River Hawks in the minor semi at Barnard Park.

B-Grade results: Dunsborough 7-246 (45 overs) (B. Christmas 100, P. Morris 54, C. Morris 30, M. Brown 2-7, D. Tomlinson 2-41) d St Marys 206 (41.5 overs) (E. Moulton 72, A. Leaney 33, B. Crain 21, R. Norrish 4-39, M. Cooper 2-31, M. Vogelsanger 2-33, S. Henry 2-35) at Duns. Synthetic. YOBS 6-263 (45 overs) (L. Wedderburn 57, J. Wain 46, E. Piggott 39no, A. Logan 31no, T. Spowart 30, T. Payne 29) d Cowaramup 60 (28.1 overs) (J. Trewren 3-10, K. Spowart 3-14, J. Gilbert 2-9) at Barnard Synthetic. Vasse 7-282 (44.1 overs) (M. Kammann 85no, J. Albury 52, V. Carter 49, D. Ebert 44, J. Stanbury 3-46, J. Lawrance 2-48) d MR Hawks 6-277 (45 overs) (M. Earl 62, J. Lawrance 56, M. Shinnick 48, J. Shinnick 40, D. Holmes 30, D. Ebert 2-12, T. Piggott 2-50, B. Kearney 2-56) at Vasse Synthetic.

AUGUSTA secured the minor premiership in C-grade cricket when they defeated Cowaramup by six wickets in the last qualifying game of the season at Augusta on Saturday.

Augusta will meet Dunsborough in the major semi-final at Augusta this Saturday, while Nannup will host St Marys in the minor semi-final.

Todd Hartnett’s 79 and 3-3 played the key role in Saints’ win over Dunsborough, which just edged YOBS out of a place in the finals.


Augusta 4-90 (9 overs) (B. Gillam 37, D. Tas 3-30) b Cowaramup 8-83 (40 overs) (T. Schofield 23, N. Miller 20no, T. Warnke 2-8, J. Warnke 2-19) at Augusta.

St Marys 9-150 (40 overs) (T. Hartnett 79) b Dunsborough 118 (34.3 overs) (T. Hartnett 3-3, K. Clively 3-14, M. Snaddon 2-24) at Bovell Park 4 Synthetic.

Nannup 7-191 (37 overs) (B. Lullfitz 66, P. Bresser 36, E. Bresser 28no, G. Stewart 3-47, A. Wilkie 2-16, D. Bailey 2-27) b Margaret River Hawks 9-185 (40 overs) (A. Bailey 65, I. Currell 27, D. Weston 23no, L. Wade 3-26, A. Fabo 3-35) at Margaret River Synthetic.

YOBS 4-166 (31.4 overs) (J. Bruse 51, M. Connaughton 48no, R. Griffiths 25) b  Vasse 8-162 (40 overs) (S. Price 89no, C. Haneveld 27, S. Young 20, Darren Cameron 3-28, M. Connaughton 2-30) at Churchill Park West.