2019 Federal election | Ballot paper drawn for the seat of Forrest

Eight candidates will run for the seat of Forrest in the House of Representatives at the upcoming federal election which is set to take place on Saturday, May 18.

The ballot paper draw confirming the nominations was held today at the Agora Centre in Bunbury, the ballot draw results were:

  1. Nerilee Boshammer - Australian Greens
  2. Mark McCall - Shooters, Fishers and Farmers
  3. Current Forrest MP Nola Marino - Liberal Party
  4. Kalven Jamieson - One Nation
  5. Alexander Marsden - Independent
  6. Ian Molyneux - WA Party
  7. Wayne Sanford - Australian Labor Party
  8. Dale Bromley - United Australian Party.

Forrest covers an area in the South West including Busselton, Bunbury, Harvey, Augusta-Margaret River, Nannup, Collie, Dardanup, Donnybrook-Balingup and Nannup.

According to the Australian Electoral Commission, the seat of Forrest has been held by the Liberal Party since 1972 and is currently considered safe with a 12.56 per cent margin the ALP.

This year, a record number of Australians are enrolled to vote with more than 16 million people expected to hit the polling stations taking the enrolment rate to 96.8 per cent.

People unable to attend a polling place on election day can cast their vote at an early voting centre from Monday, 29 April.

The Australian Electoral Commission said with a record enrolment rate of 96.8% it is important that all Australians enrolled now think about how and when they will cast their vote.

More than 500 early voting centres will be available throughout the early voting period with the majority opening on Monday.

Early voting centres will be located across the region including:

  • High Street Hall, 47 Bussell Highway, Busselton (Opens Wednesday, May 6)
  • Dunsborough Park Shopping Centre, shop 20, 34 Dunn Bay Road, Dunsborough (Opens Wednesday, May 6)
  • Margaret River South Regional TAFE, Lot 272 Bussell Highway, Margaret River
  • Prinsep Building, 1/24 Prinsep Street, Bunbury.

Have your say: Let us know what issues matter to you at this year's federal election. Email editorial.bdmail@fairfaxmedia.com.au.