Dunsborough win third Cup

The Dunsborough Tennis Club had a good win against their across the bay rivals, Busselton, in the fifth annual Whittaker Cup Challenge securing their third title with 16 sets to 8 result in tie 2.

They were far too good on their home hard courts after also showing class on grass in the first tie held earlier in the season at the Busselton Tennis Centre when the score was also 16-8.

The challengers jumped first to post 4 emphatic wins in Round 1 but Dunsborough quickly got into gear to take 5 sets in the second round.

John Tuckett and Brian Walker prevailed in a close match over Russell Walter and Kim Goodridge 7-5.

The home team stacked on the pressure in the third round winning 5 matches. In the last round Wayne Richter and Alan Robb scored Busselton a consoling win over Jim Davies and Guido Ghedina 6-0.

Dunsborough's top four seeds, Pat Mulhern, John Tuckett, John McCallum and Greg Banfield won all their matches while Colin Mott, Bob Stevenson, Nathan Shanahan and Brian Walker won three each. Tony Henry and Mike Howes also made handy contributions. Glen Young was best for Busselton with four wins.

Tim Clayton, who played doubles at Wimbledon in the 1960's picked up Ace of the Day for Busselton.