Margaret River Hawk takes out cricketer of the year

BRILLIANT YEAR: Popular Hawks cricketer Kavy de Silva accepts the A-Grade Cricketer of the Year trophy from sponsor Libby Mettam MLA at last weeks cricket windup. Photo Supplied.

BRILLIANT YEAR: Popular Hawks cricketer Kavy de Silva accepts the A-Grade Cricketer of the Year trophy from sponsor Libby Mettam MLA at last weeks cricket windup. Photo Supplied.

OUTSTANDING Margaret River Hawks allrounder Kavy de Silva performed a clean sweep of the major individual awards when the Busselton-Margaret River Cricket Association held its windup and trophy presentation last week.

The windup and trophy presentation was held immediately after the grand final at Barnard Park - the first time the cricket association has done this - and met with a popular reception from the players and trophy sponsors alike.

De Silva was a convincing winner in the Libby Mettam MLA A-Grade Cricketer of the Year award, scoring 873 points for the season - nearly doubling the second and third placed players, YOBS allrounders Ben Payne (464 points) and Haig Colombera (449 points).

There was also no doubting de Silva's win in the House Medal for the A-Grade fairest and best player.

He polled a record 21 votes from the umpires, a massive 13 points ahead of runner-up Rumesh Silva from St Marys, who polled 8 votes.

De Silva also won the Vic Clamp Memorial A-Grade Batting Aggregate (403 runs) and the Busselton Toyota A-Grade Bowling Aggregate (26 wickets).

It is the first time since Colin Mott performed the feat in 1995 that the same cricketer has topped both the A-Grade batting and bowling aggregates in the one season.

De Silva also took out the Sportspower A-Grade Batting Average trophy, while St Marys' Rumesh Silva won the Nola Marino MHR Bowling Average trophy.

Young Hawks wicketkeeper Harvey Fisher won the Cape Cellars A-Grade Fielding Trophy, narrowly ahead of Ben Payne from YOBS.

Fisher also shared in the most lucrative cash prize of the night, the Ron Bell Most Improved Junior trophy, being named a joint winner along with St Marys fast bowler Rory Calhoun and Cowaramup batsman Finn Barrett-Lennard.

Ron Bell, who now lives in Perth and is 94 years old, travelled to Busselton for the awards ceremony to hand out the prize that he has personally sponsored for over 40 years.

The George Kemp Memorial B-Grade Cricketer of the Year trophy went to St Marys skipper Peter Grygorcewicz.

Hawks captain Grant Garstone was runner-up.

Alex Logan from YOBS won the George Penfold Memorial B-Grade Batting Aggregate trophy with 352 runs, while Hawks batsman David Holmes won the Grassias Turf Management B-Grade Batting Average trophy.

Hawks paceman Trent Matthews took both the B-Grade Bowling Aggregate trophy (23 wickets) and the B-Grade Bowling Average trophy.

David Holmes won the Mike Adams Fielding trophy in B-Grade.

For the second year running, Vasse batsman Dennis Amour took out the Duchess Medical Practice C-Grade Cricketer of the Year, followed by Nannup players Leigh Guthridge and Jay Wynd.

Amour and Wynd shared in the C-Grade batting trophies, while Nannup's Troy Rasmussen won the C-Grade Bowling Aggregate award.

For the first time there was a tie in the C-Grade Bowling Average trophy, with Leigh Guthridge (Nannup) and Chris Dudley (Dunsborough) both averaging 8.5 runs per wicket.

Bill Cawley from Cowaramup won the C-Grade Fielding trophy.

Other individual awards on the night were handed to YOBS fast bowler Matt Connaughton (most outstanding performance), who was recognised for his hat-trick off the first three balls of an innings, and Dunsborough's Michael Vogelsanger (most improved).

Prestigious team awards were handed to St Marys (A-Grade Premiers - the Barnard Cup) and Vasse (B-Grade Premiers - the Barnard Shield) by Barnard descendant Anne Fennessy.

Anne Fennessy also awarded the Bovell Bowl for the Best Overall Club to Margaret River Hawks.

David Yates, the grandson of original donor Dr Percy Yates, was on hand to present the Yates Shield to A-Grade minor premiers St Marys, whose president Ben Mattock accepted the trophy.

Cowaramup skipper Mark Barrett-Lennard accepted the Penfold Trophy for the C-Grade premiership, while Margaret River Hawks won the Ray Smith Shield for the B-Grade minor premiership.